|Mi.Traditional Bowhunters Jamboree at Hanson Hills|
2013 MTB Jamboree
About Hanson Hills
Hanson Hills has a rich history of activity and controversy. Opened in 1929, it was the first downhill ski area in Michigan and the second to open in the Midwest. The “Snow trains” brought many people to Grayling where they would board flat bed trucks for the ride to what was then called the “Grayling Winter Sports Park”. The Michigan Snow Queens were crowned and honored at the annual Winter Carnival, famous for the elaborate ice sculptures built by local people. The old toboggan run was an attraction that thrilled many. Another exciting attraction was the 66 ft. ski jump that was built in 1934. Hanson Hills was willed to the State of Michigan by Rasmus Hanson for military or recreational use and is still controlled by the State of Michigan’s Military Board. It was during the time when the area was called “Bear Mountain” that great growth was seen and the ski resort had 22 slopes for downhill skiing, the “Polyhedron” hotel, the “Little Smokey Railroad”, and the “Fred Bear Museum” were all a big part of the excitement at what we now know as “Hanson Hills Recreation Area and Winter Sports Park”.
In the beginning, the main goal of GRA was to maintain and run the ski operation. Now GRA has added to it’s priorities year round sports programs for Youth and Adults. Year round, quality recreational activities are supported by 1/2 mil of taxes and user fees. GRA keeps prices at a minimum so as to be accessible for as many participants as possible.